Official-source FAQ

Military Pay and Allowance Eligibility FAQ

A published rate does not by itself establish entitlement. These answers explain the eligibility inputs MyLES can represent and the records or authorization it cannot verify.

Open the calculator

Official policy

Who qualifies for O-1E, O-2E, or O-3E basic pay?

DFAS publishes separate O-1E, O-2E, and O-3E tables for commissioned officers credited with more than four years of qualifying prior enlisted or warrant-officer service. The governing rules determine which service is creditable; a member's official service record and finance office establish entitlement. The existence of more than four total years of service does not by itself prove eligibility for an E rate.

Sources: Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Basic Pay: Officers with More Than 4 Years of Creditable Service

Back to questions

Calculator methodology

Why does MyLES list O-1E, O-2E, and O-3E as separate pay grades?

MyLES cannot inspect the member's service record or determine whether prior service is creditable under the governing rules. Selecting the E grade explicitly prevents the calculator from inferring eligibility from years of service alone and directs it to the corresponding DFAS basic-pay row. Select an E grade only when the member's official record supports it.

Sources: Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Basic Pay: Officers with More Than 4 Years of Creditable Service; Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Your Leave and Earnings Statement

Back to questions

Official policy

What are the 2026 standard BAS rates?

DFAS lists monthly BAS effective January 1, 2026, as $328.48 for officers and $476.95 for enlisted members. DoD states that BAS is meant to offset food costs for the service member and is not intended to offset meal costs for family members. MyLES uses the officer or enlisted standard rate selected for the estimate and lists any entered meal deduction separately.

Sources: Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Basic Allowance for Subsistence; Department of Defense Military Compensation: Basic Allowance for Subsistence

Back to questions

Official policy

Who may receive BAS II?

DFAS states that BAS II may be payable to enlisted members at a permanent station who are assigned to single unaccompanied Government quarters without adequate food storage or preparation facilities, when a Government mess is unavailable and meals cannot otherwise be made available. BAS II is twice standard enlisted BAS and requires authorization by the Secretary of the Military Department concerned. A member cannot establish BAS II eligibility by selecting it in MyLES.

Sources: Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Basic Allowance for Subsistence

Back to questions

Official policy

Who is eligible for CONUS COLA?

DTMO describes CONUS COLA as a taxable supplemental allowance for members assigned to designated high-cost CONUS areas. The program uses duty location and a cost threshold for non-housing goods and services; the official lookup also uses pay grade, years of service, and dependents to determine the amount. MyLES automatically applies a loaded CONUS COLA amount when the selected location and profile have a matching official row.

Sources: Defense Travel Management Office: CONUS Cost-of-Living Allowance

Back to questions

Official policy

Does dependent count affect every housing and cost-of-living allowance the same way?

No. BAH uses with-dependent or without-dependent status rather than the number of dependents. Overseas COLA uses dependent count, and the official lookup includes additional profile inputs. OHA has separate with-dependent and without-dependent rental treatment, including reduced percentages described by DTMO for members without dependents. MyLES keeps both dependency status and dependent count because different allowances use them differently.

Sources: Defense Travel Management Office: Basic Allowance for Housing Overview; Defense Travel Management Office: Overseas Housing Allowance; Defense Travel Management Office: Overseas COLA Rate Lookup

Back to questions

Planning limitation

Why are some special pays entered manually instead of selected automatically?

DFAS publishes separate tables for numerous special and incentive pays, including aviation, career sea, diving, hazardous duty, language, hardship-duty, and health-profession pays. A public rate table does not establish that a particular member is entitled to a listed pay. MyLES therefore treats special pays as user-selected planning inputs and does not infer entitlement from rank or location alone. Verify the pay type and amount against the LES and servicing finance office.

Sources: Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Military Pay Tables and Information; Defense Finance and Accounting Service: Your Leave and Earnings Statement

Back to questions

Official Sources

Accessed August 12, 2026. Links go directly to the issuing agency.

  1. Basic Pay: Officers with More Than 4 Years of Creditable ServiceDefense Finance and Accounting Service. 2026 rates posted January 2026. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  2. Your Leave and Earnings StatementDefense Finance and Accounting Service. Revision date not stated on page. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  3. Basic Allowance for SubsistenceDefense Finance and Accounting Service. Updated December 19, 2025. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  4. Basic Allowance for SubsistenceDepartment of Defense Military Compensation. 2026 rates displayed. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  5. CONUS Cost-of-Living AllowanceDefense Travel Management Office. Current program overview. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  6. Basic Allowance for Housing OverviewDefense Travel Management Office. Revision date not stated on page. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  7. Overseas Housing AllowanceDefense Travel Management Office. Revision date not stated on page. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  8. Overseas COLA Rate LookupDefense Travel Management Office. Current lookup page. Accessed August 12, 2026.
  9. Military Pay Tables and InformationDefense Finance and Accounting Service. Current 2026 pay-table index. Accessed August 12, 2026.